Flight Instruction for Disabled People

SalmonJo

Hello all! I'm new to flying and to this forum. I've always had an interest in flying but just recently have been pursuing it more seriously. I took an introductory flight from a local instructor and discovered that due to a disability I have, toe brakes are really difficult for me. Rudder pedals I believe will be fine with practice. Since that discovery I've been searching for planes without toe brakes or planes with hand controls, which led me to this forum. Please correct me if I am wrong but it looks like CT's have rudder pedals and a hand brake? Ultimately what I am looking for is somebody in my general area that could provide instruction in an aircraft that would meet my needs. If anybody on this forum has any information it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Salmon Jo,

I have a customer with a Sky Arrow Sport. This aircraft has an option for all hand controls (which my customer has on his aircraft). It is standard with hand brakes. He is in the Kansas City area so maybe not much help, but you might keep an eye out for one in Wash. I will do some asking around and let you know if I find out anything useful.

Doug Hereford

Thanks again guys! Any and all of your input is much appreciated. I had already checked the FAA registry and done lots of searching online but I want to contact as many people as possible in the aviation world to see whats available to me. Again thanks!