Ocean Ditching

schurch379

I am a private pilot with about 400 hrs of flying in Hawaii, and shipped a 2009 CTLS to Hawaii mid-year. It's a great plane, just about perfect for Hawaii flying.

Anyway, my flights are over the ocean the majority of my flying, i.e., inter-island trips and routes. Now; I am not paranoid about having to pull the BRS and land in the ocean, and am well prepared for this eventuality; however, the thought recently struck and hence, I was interested in whether or not the CTLS had enough buoyancy in its wings to stay on top of the water, rather than sinking ( if ditched )?

Any opinions out there? :o)

Scott

Kona, Hawaii

That's something I've been trying to figure out for a while. I think it will float though. There's a lot of foam in the structure that will hold air, and the fuel tanks and outboard empty air spaces only have drain holes on the bottom, so it should be enough, at least for a while.

Scott - what's the average water temperature in your area? Do you carry a life-raft or anything in addition to a life-jacket?

I don't know the answer to your original question, I'd guess as Anticept suggests that it will float for a while.

...... and the carbon fiber has good buoyancy too. .......

I'm struggling with that one - the density of water is of course 1g/cc - Carbon Fibre is 1.6g/cc - Put a piece of carbon fibre in water and it will sink.

The wing tanks are sealed and would act as perfect floation for the whole plane. Plus the plane itself in incredibly light, and the carbon fiber has good buoyancy too. No doubt the plane would float for a good while dependent upon how much fuel displaces air in those tanks.

Even with empty tanks, the fuel vents on top could take on water. Also, if the fuel valve is open and the engine is under water, water could push *up* through the fuel lines and fill the tanks. It would be smart to close the fuel valve before ditching anyway, but that's another good reason.