Autopilot evaluation and experiences

ctfarmer

Happy new year to all from Australia,

I am new to flying having just a few hours up my sleeve and new to CT ownership having just purchased a new but old CTLS which, apart from the factory test in Dec 2009, is yet to be flown as i am awaiting final registration approval. Long story but it sat in dealer storage in Italy for close to 3 years.

Anyway, it has the new "steam" instrumentation in Dynon D100/120 and a Garmin 695.

My question relates to installing an AP and what if any good or bad experiences members have with respect to an aftermarket installation of either Dynon or TT. I expect they are my two main options.

So i would be grateful for any response relating to flight characteristics, features, safety aspects, operation or installation issues/problems or whatever relevant matters to assist in my decision as to which way i go.

I have searched here and found some relevant posts. I note the latest Dynon firmware upgrade (5.5) relates mainly to AP fix's. I have had a couple of first hand responses here in Australia saying, go TT as the Dynon AP did not work as well but they are not recent experiences.

cheers peter

Peter,

I did an after market installation of a TruTrak autopilot in my 2005 CTSW during the summer of 2012. It required a "major repair authorization (MRA form) from Flight Design.

I was upgrading the rest of my panel at the time and one important feature in the choice for me at the time was that TruTrak was offering the "autopilot level" feature that worked with their EFIS. After my CFI had me do the "unusual attitudes" during my recurrent safety training, I was able to show him that my aircraft could recover at the push of a button. The FD service center that I was working with at the time recommended the TruTrak based on other customers experience. Trutrak no longer makes the EFIS that I have, but their Vizion series does offer the emergency AP level feature.