Loud Vibration and noise from wheels on takeoff

Sully209

I am a rookie owner of a CTLS that was due to fly it home to CA this weekend. However, in between a couple of training sessions a significant vibration occurred upon takeoff. The flight instructor went up with my son for a little training while I took a little break so I could return to focus on my landings in hopes of being signed off and then fly home. My son said the instructor landed the plane at the end of his lesson and the landing did not appear to be inline with the runway and there was significant alignment corrects made once they hit the ground. 

The instructor thought it was simple low air pressure which we promptly corrected and went out for another session only to have the takeoff aborted due to significant vibration and noise. We looked everything over as best we could then attempted again, took off only to return to the home airport. 

The instructors conclusion is that there is a blown sidewall on the main tire which I cannot see any evidence to that. 

I imposed on a local mechanic on New Years day who pulled the wheel pants, looked everything over and saw nothing. Later in the day I asked the seller to do a run-up and takeoff attempt with me and that ended with an aborted takeoff with what I felt was much more vibration than previous. 

The mechanic is due to look at it Monday and I am not too sure what, if anything, he might find this time around.

Any advice, opinions, suggestions or questions for the rookie on his first ever post ?

Thanks in advance guys

Hi Sully,

This post is lots of questions to be ask to help diagnose the vibration. Sounds like a front end is a little loose and the most common cause of this type of vibration. Please give me a call.