Ongoing oil pressure indication errors

FlyingMonkey

I have had intermittent oil pressure indication errors since I bought my CTSW. I have had the the sender replaced (twice), the sender moved to the firewall using the Lockwood kit, checked and tightened all grounds, added dual ground wires to the sender to different ground points, and most recently crimped a new ring terminal on the sender signal wire. Each time the problem seems to go away, then a couple of weeks later the pressure starts creeping down again.

Today in the pattern the pressure slowly dropped from 35psi (it was already a little lower than the normal 40-50psi) to less than 10psi and at one point almost zero. I landed immediately. On taxi the pressure came back up a few psi.

The big clue came when I switched off the avionics master...the oil pressure immediately came up to almost normal. I started playing with various switches. Every time I switched something off, the pressure would come up a little, when switching things on it would drop a little. None of the other engine gauges showed any changes. So it's definitely electrical, and isolated to oil pressure.

One weird thing I noticed was that increasing rpm would sometimes cause the pressure to slowly drop a little. It seems the alternator should put out more voltage and make the pressure read up a bit, but I don't really understand electrons. Maybe the electrical system putting out more RF noise?

So what's going on here?!? I have a space factory gauge and could swap it out, that's about the only thing I know to do at this point. I could replace the sender again, but twice seems like enough on that...

What type of oil pressure instrument? Electronic or D'Arsonval?

You might have a bad regulator rectifier. The more you load it, the more it seems to aggravate indications.