CTLS landing for beginners

Chirurgo

I am a low hour CTLS pilot. I don't care if you landed your plane in the tundra with a 40nt. crosswind. I have no intention of going there so please don't put bragging stories up here. I would like to know if anyone

With the following Conditions

1. Never less than 3000 feet of runway

2. Never more than 7nts crosswind. Usually 3-4  Nts. or less

3. Never more than 15 nts. of wind of any kind

Questions

1. What is the "best "landing configuration 0 or 15 ,(I don't like 30 )and why

2.What speed do you like on final and at time of flare  with touchdown (Between numbers and 1000 fotters  as a goal) both with 0 and 15  

3. Does anyone regularly land with 0 flaps

4.  Would most folks land with 15 in these conditions. 

Thanks

• Replies 125
  • Created
  • Last Reply

With those conditions 30*, closed throttle and stick full back is the 'best' configuration.  Its best because it leads to minimum speed / minimum risk landings.

Your conservative limitations are theoretical, once you are in the air you have to land even if the conditions take a turn for the worse.

PS One of the joys of owning a CT is the big view that you get on approach and landing. This and other advantages become available when you routinely do minimum speed approach / landings.