Alaska trip 2012?

Farmer

I want to start by thanking everyone involved in the recent Page flyin. It was my first event with this Flight Design family and it was great. I am new to Flight Design, but not new to travel. This past summer my wife I and visited twenty six States, in about five weeks with our new CTLS N413F. We visited both coasts of our great nation in about 100 hours of flight time. This next summer I was hoping to make it all the way to the artic circle in Alaska. I have driven the Dalton Highway north of Fairbanks to the artic ocean, but a flight to Nome, Barrow and beyound would be spectular. The Brooks range is one of a kind. Best done is early to mid summer I think. That should give long days, clear sky, and the very best weather.

I am in the early stage of planning of the trip, which is very possible in out Light Sport aircraft. With no medical, and an over flight of Canada, there is one leg of about 500nm. The other option, that is used by some, is to put a pilot in the rigth seat for that single leg. With that option the longest leg of the trip woould not need to be more than two hours. We would be landing in Canada with that option. This will not be a wild and dangerour flight, as there are many airport every hour or so during the entire trip. Plenty of stops for expensive avgas and of course even more options for mogas. The route would not require flying over water, out of gliding distant from land. It is my plan to sleep in a warm bed each evening. I will carry a Sat phone with internet connection, in case we need to order pizza.