Aeroshell Sport 4 Oil

Doug G.

I have had contradicting info regarding Sport 4 oil. One pilot and A & P ho has quite q bit of experience with Rotax in his Kitfox said it is really good stuff. Another person said a mechanic he talked to didn't think it was very good and said to use motorcycle oil.

Anyone aware of issues with Sport 4?

Doug

Doug,

I've been using it for a little over two years with no problems and haven't heard of any. Seems like some guys use Sport +4 which is a semi synthetic and prefer the full synthetic. Rotax.com has a video reviewing the attributes of both. We'll see what Roger weighs with, he's seen more 912s than most guys.

al meyer,

P.S. Do you have your plane yet?

Here's an older post by Roger Lee. Roger put in a link for the Amsoil comparison with other oils including the 3 ball friction test but this link doesn't seem to work anymore. This was a really nice test comparison done by Amsoil. Here's the post:

http://ctflier.com/i...rch__1#entry339

FWIW, I have been using Mobil 1 Racing 4T full synthetic (motorcycle oil for wet clutch). I'm switching over to Amsoil 10-40 full synthetic motorcycle oil this next oil change.

Hi Doug,

The mechanic that said to use a motorcycle oil doesn't really know oils evidently because the Aero Shell is motorcycle oil just packaged for Rotax under the Aero Shell name. It has the same additives that other motorcycle oils have.