From Delta, CO to Pittsburgh, PA

CT_MATT

Howdy folks! I am a new forum member but, I have been following for the past few years and recently purchased a used 2008 CTLS. Roger Lee was a huge help here and was great about taking the time to chat with me about CT’s in general. The difficult part was rushing to coordinate transition training (I am a private pilot) and figure out a plan to ferry it back to my home field which, includes crossing the Rockies. A fellow semi-local CT owner agreed to help me make the long trip back (Thanks again Tip!). This speaks volumes for the CT community in that someone was kind (or crazy) enough to agree to fly with a stranger (we had only talked on the phone and email) across the US. So starts our long journey to bring the plane home… Our commercial flight to Grand Junction is at 7AM Friday the 14th so we are up early because Tip has to drive over an hour to meet up with me at the airport. We arrive in Delta (after 2 long flights and a short drive) and have some tweaks to do on the plane before we leave. After the tweaks and a short test flight, we are off to eat and get some sleep (at least attempt to). Saturday morning we are off at first light and make our way down past Montrose, and Gunnison to cross Marshall pass (10, 842ft) with Mt. Ouray (13,961ft) on our left (I will try to post pictures). We had a gorgeous morning of clear skies and light winds at altitude. Then we headed down to Pueblo and on up to our first fuel stop at Goodland, Kansas (GLD) (3.3 hours). Although expensive, the folks here were great at getting us gassed up and on our way quickly. From there we were able to make it to Centerville Iowa (TVK) (4.0 hours). This place was deserted but, the clubhouse was open and wifi helped us coordinate our lodging for the night. Our last stop of the day before dark set in was in Plymouth, Indiana (C65) (3.0 hours). After an interesting landing (pay attention to the zoom on the GPS), we have an easy walk across the road to ou