Oshkosh 2013

Al Downs

Karen and I are toying with the idea.

I just downloaded the NOTAM, and I'm a bit uneasy about flying in.

Where are you located, and if we got to where you are would we have a way to maybe drive the rest of the way?

All very tentative at this point, dependent on weather and some other considerations.

But who knows?

If you wanted to you could fly to Racine and we could put your plane in my hangar and drive up. A little over an hour drive from my hangar. I am not experienced enough to fly there and the Notam scares the hell out of me.

Eddie, another good option is landing in Fon du lac. KFDL or KfLD I can never remember which. We land and tie down there every year for a few days. Bring tie downs for grass or they will force u to buy some. They run a temporary tower each year that week, as it is a busy little place just 20 minutes shuttle ride from Oshkosh. The shuttle is like 5 bucks and runs continous every half hour. Anyway it's much easier than the bee hive at Osh. I will have our motor home there thursday thru saturday, next to the road up against the fence facing north towards the ultra light grass strip. The Gutmans are two down from us. Ours is an American Eagle, plum and beige along Knapp Rd facing north. Stop by for a cold refreshment and some fine Wisconsin cheese after the expo closes each day. If you time it right u may be forced to join us for brats and burgers.

Thanks, guys!

I flew into Airventure once, and Sun 'n' Fun a handful of times, but always with another pilot who was familiar with the procedures.

Still sorting options, one of which is to ride up, turning it into our summer bike trip.

Will keep everyone informed - and thanks for the offers!

With all the money EAA had to pay to the FAA for the controllers.. you should read the Notam a give it a try :P .

Seriously, It is not all that bad and is a lot of fun.

Have the correct frequency, go to Ripon to Fisk follow the railroad and look for the airport.