Avilution changing to FlightPro

Ed Cesnalis

'Looks interesting.  Their previous version was a solid program. They don't mention pricing, yet, but it was cheap under the previous name.  One thing that made me drop the program before was a small, but important thing.  The developer would not consider using decoded weather!  I can't think of a program that doesn't provide decoded weather, including free ones.  It's a safety issue to me, as decoded weather communicates the information better.  I hope he's changed his mind and will offer decoded weather.

tim

Waiting to see what it means for the app. I have been using it for a couple of years and it keeps improving. Although I don't use it in the cockpit, it gives me everything I need for planning. It also provides a backup for the cockpit. A lot of features ADS-B, Nexrad, flight plan filing, etc., etc.

The other nice thing is that it operates on any number of Android devices. Everything works on both my phone and tablet flight routes are available on both.

Good stuff

Tim, I agree. I have raised the same issue and was told it would be added to the list for improvements. I use another app when I want decoded. (Aeroweather, which is also a great app. It gives great weather down to headwinds and crosswinds for each runway.)

It's not a big deal, but when you consider safety, it is a big deal.  Coded transmissions were a thing of a 100 years ago.  Think Teletype or earlier.  Transmission bandwidth was slow and memory was very limited.  So they came up with codes.  Admittedly a pain, but at least the information got through, kinda.  Today, with the bandwidth and memory limitations gone, there is no excuse for forcing people to use codes.  Codes, especially like the weird ones used in weather, introduce a greater chance of mis-communicating the information.  A possibly deadly thing. O wd u prfr it lk ths?