Failed ignition modules

Jim

I've been following this topic with interest, partly because my airplane has vintage ignition modules and partly because as an engineer I'd like to know what's going on.

From what I've read, the modules don't fail in flight, they usually both fail at the same time, and new modules don't fail.  If they don't fail in flight, when do they fail?  I'm guessing either at engine start, or at engine shutdown.  Why would this be?  I'm guessing either some sort of inductive surge, or possibly the modules ending up in some type of parasitic SCR latchup.  Don't worry if you don't know what that means.  I'm also guessing that Rotax/Franz/Ducati or whoever makes the module knows about the problem and has fixed it in later modules.

Any thoughts?

• Replies 198
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Kevin at CPS said the starting circuit on one fails, but you likely don't notice it since most ignitions switches have "BOTH" on for starting.

In my Sky Arrow, I may have noticed the failure of module 2 when it started not starting on IGN2 alone, as the BullyHawk wants. Still started when I switched IGN1 on, but now that one may have failed as well.

I think.

My aircraft is a very early 2005 CTSW.  The last few times that I went flying this summer, the engine was progressively more difficult to start.  A week ago, I couldn't get it to start at all.  The battery was replaced last summer.  It was attached to a new "Battery Tender" with temperature compensation essentially 24/7 since then.  After reading the Rotax "Soft Start" thread and a couple of related threads, I decided to try the "bag of ice" on the ignition modules as Roger Lee described in the "soft start" thread.  The engine started just fine after "chilling" the ignition modules for 30 minutes.  Thanks Roger!  

I don't think that "have ice...will fly..." is a very practical plan for the summer months.  So, it looks like I am joining those searching for new ignition modules.  Ouch!