1200 mile trip finished! question about oil temps

kentuckynet

Hello just got back from my longest flight yet....warming up for PAGE!

I have always known this plane has issues with getting warm during climbout. Im always able to keep it under control but its a pain the the A_ _!

Just a normal climbout out to say 3000' at summer temps, you will have to lower the nose and let it climb at 90 knots or reduce the throttle.

The second complaint i have, it has always had as well, the oil temp fluctuates from 200 to 250, you can usually tell about what its average is because the really hign numbers come in when its ranging 205 215 then 248 then 202 and so on. This was the first time i had the alarms go off from high temps.

One other thing to note, i have been flying this plane for amost 18 months, i finally got the nerve to turn on the auto pilot...........

WOW

How can you fly without it....this is like cruise control for your car but better, its like having AC in your backhoe....its awesome!!!

This morning at 6AM when i left merrit island florida the egt' had too wide of a spread and that alarm went off as well, they were nealry 175 degrees different until both reached 1480 then all was fine. No other issues with this any where along the trip ????

Any help to fix my 2 complaints before the page trip would be helpful....

Thanks

Mack

Mack,

Two words: Poor grounds

The oil pressure swinging all over is a poor ground. Tighten all 5-6 of them up. They may be finger tight, but wrench loose. They are not tight until you put a wrench on them! This may also be causing the EGT and any other instrument issue. Do the grounds before you even bother to touch anything else. 95% of the time this is the problem with any instrument issue especially a very sensitive oil pressure sender.

Hi Mack,