Seat belt news

Tip

It's been awhile since seat belts have been discussed and I'm wondering if anyone has come up with a solution? My wife and I were DRIVEN into the roof my LS yesterday when we encountered a severe down draft.

I busted my head through the top window once (that hurt), and went down this path of research. (FYI, I was doing zero Gs and just playing with the plane when I too hit a decent downdraft)

Over time, the belts fibers start to fuzz a little, and the seat belt adjuster can lose it's edge a little. I've been told that by putting foil around the metal blade in the adjuster can help regain some of the "bite" by taking up some of the space. Haven't really tried it yet as my flying is on the back burner right now.

Or, you can replace your belts.

Hi Corey,

I was at Delaware yesterday and saw your plane there.

Yeah when I got news it had me pretty torn up (I'm an engineer at heart and probably care a little too much for my machines). Shane knows how to treat her though and I work with him a lot on things. I just don't have facilities for major repairs or I would do it myself.

My 2006 CTsw is Experimental.  Last month I put a set of Crow cam-lock 5-point harnesses into the plane.  I used the original mounts and brackets for the lap and shoulder harnesses.  Drilled holes and mounted brackets for the anti-sub belt.  

These belts work.  When tightened down, I am firmly attached to the seat.  They don't come loose on their own, and if they did, you can have a small spring installed in the adjuster to keep them from loosening.  Crow told me that they recommend the springs for the lap belt only for aerobatic flight.  

The harness has more "presence" than the factory harness, but I quickly forget that I have it on, once my attention is directed towards flying the plane.