Around the World

michael.g.miller

I have a (somewhat) crazy idea of flying a CTLS{i}/CTSW around the world.

I'm currently a 345h private pilot in NYC. My flying has been in 172/182/SR20/SR22 with my ~150 most recent hours being in a Cirrus. I'm instrument and seaplane rated.

I'm curious to get a gut check from current Flight Design owners about the feasibility of this idea:

- How does autogas perform? My plan would be to use autogas to make up for the general lack of avgas around the world.

- How is the LSA category treated around the world? If it is N-Reg, will I need special permits, as if it were an experimental / non-certified plane?

- What is insurance like for someone with no LSA experience?

- What's a realistic price I can expect to pay for a used Flight Design plane?

- I see a lot of CTSWs on controller/trade-a-plane. Will this have sufficient range to do a northern ferry route without an additional tank? If not, what are the logistics and pricing of a ferry tank?

I'd appreciate any suggestions/feedback on how crazy I am!

Thanks!

Mike

I have a (somewhat) crazy idea of flying a CTLS{i}/CTSW around the world.

I'm currently a 345h private pilot in NYC. My flying has been in 172/182/SR20/SR22 with my ~150 most recent hours being in a Cirrus. I'm instrument and seaplane rated.

I'm curious to get a gut check from current Flight Design owners about the feasibility of this idea:

- How does autogas perform? My plan would be to use autogas to make up for the general lack of avgas around the world.

- How is the LSA category treated around the world? If it is N-Reg, will I need special permits, as if it were an experimental / non-certified plane?

- What is insurance like for someone with no LSA experience?

- What's a realistic price I can expect to pay for a used Flight Design plane?