Cirrus SR22 Chute Pull

gbigs

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

How many of these planes have had this happen? Seems like  a lot?

There are a LOT of Cirrus planes out there, flying a LOT of hours, but, yes, it does seem to be happening a lot.

I just posted the following to the POA site:

"Good outcome, and I'm not addressing this towards the accident pilot.

But it needs to be said - if your engine dies, or you suspect it may soon, turn directly towards the best available landing site (terrain permitting), and establish best glide.

If you can place your plane over an adequate runway, you should have the skills to circle down to a key position abeam the numbers and execute a power off landing on the first half of the runway. If you don't, that's something to practice until you can.

But as an instructor, I can't tell you the number of times I've pulled power on a student or BFR applicant either over or almost over an airport, watched him or her fly away from the airport a considerable distance, and then come up short of the runway - pilots are notoriously lousy at judging glide range in unfamiliar circumstances.

In the case in question, it sure seems the pilot had plenty of altitude, and it also seems he was often descending at a far faster rate than best glide would have given him. Unless there was smoke in the cockpit, it's hard for me to see why that would ever be a net positive. But in a crisis, the siren song of getting on the ground quickly can be very powerful.

Looking forward to more details on this one."

Cirrus drills pilots to "consider CAPS" first in an emergency, because their fatal accident rates were higher than other types.  The fatal rate goes down, but now there are complaints that there are more chute pulls (all with good outcomes)?

Cirrus guys just can't win.   :bad_day-3329: