Newbee with landing flap questions.

Buckaroo

I just received my new to me 2007 CTSW delivered from a great seller Col. Guy Jones out of Albuquerque. What a great person Guy is and very generous to bring my plane out to remote Montana for me! Guy spent time going over the bird and we did a little flying. I'm a flight instructor with 3000 hours but my last time teaching was 30 years ago.

I'm going to hire Brent Vetter from Vetter aviation to check me out next week. I'm sure Brent has no time in a CTSW and my little time with two landings with 15 of flap was to say very interesting with a 10 knot cross wind. 15 degrees of flaps is very effective and after takeoff I was advised to wait to 400 feet before flaps to zero.

For my question: 1. With full flaps just before touch down what are the abort and go around procedures?

2. Say coming in shallow by mistake with full flaps how does power handle the drag?

3. In general any helpful information concerning full flaps will be appreciated!

I'm sure my check out ride will include soft, short and slips so any info I can pass on to my check out pilot will be appreciated by he and I! We don't want to learn the hard way!

Thanks for the time!

post-1597-0-71692600-1479862377_thumb.jpeg

post-1597-0-21387100-1479862435_thumb.jpeg

post-1597-0-48295500-1479862494_thumb.jpeg

• Replies 127
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1.) I don't know if there is a formal 'procedure'.  Advance the throttle, control pitch and yaw, establish a positive rate of climb, clean up flaps when  able...

2.) Power is more than adequate.

3.) Seems like 90% of CT pilots avoid full flaps, almost any excuse will do.  Most claim a pitching moment and a need for positive nose gear steering gets and keeps them forward, they even use forward stick for 'traction'.  I represent the 'full' flaps, minimum landing speed contingent.  Many fear 'dropping a wing' when landing and it happens in shear but a little pressure on the opposite rudder softens it nicely.