NavWorx Inc. Penalty

WmInce

I was instructed to send my SkyGuard back to the factory for the GPS update.  SkyGuard installed the proper internal GPS, added a new antenna and upgraded the firmware.  This had to cost them a lot but they have a good relationship with the FAA and did what the FAA instructed them to do in order to keep the peace.  No cost to me other than the shipping back to them.  They handled the shipping back to me after the upgrade was done.

As an electrical engineer I have to admit to being baffled by the Navworx saga. How hard would it be to put a compliant chipset into their product and declare victory. But no, they wanted to go to war with the FAA. That's a no win situation. For their part, the FAA seems to have lost all perspective when it comes to Navworx. The penalty they are proposing is bizarre in its size, unprecedented, and serves no purpose, being levied on a now defunct company. Further, it occurs to me that many other companies are flying under the radar (so to speak), using similar chipsets and other 'innovative' approaches (like Skyguard) that will need to get sorted out soon. Meanwhile the FAA is still beating the stuffings out of a tiny company that has already given up.

One wonders if the FAA isn't helping out the big companies like Garmin, Level3, Rockwell, Honeywell, etc.  Another oddity is other small companies like Dynon, Freeflight, and Uavionix who seem to have no problems with the FAA. I admit to being a little confused.

10 minutes ago, SportFlyer1 said: