Broken Left Door Widow

Sergio Diaz

Well, first of all I'm new here, I've been flying a CTLS here in Colombia for a couple months already and really enjoy the airplane, I'm a 23 year old corporate pilot, my main airplane is an Eclipse Jet 500 and my for fun airplane (not work) is the CTLS. 

Unfortunately today my left widow cracked and I looked all over the internet for parts or a solution without luck, I know you guys are experts on this awesome airplane and can maybe point me on the right direction.

Best regards and I'm happy to have found a forum on this great LSA

Sergio

Hereby I attach a photo of the bird, it has the wheel pants mounted already soon will upload a recent one and by the way it has a nice Rotax 914 turbo engine, CRAZY performance.

IMG_1254.JPG

Tom, one of my mechanics replaced a windshield recently.  I don't know all the details but do know that he had a window shipped and then FD USA sent him directions and also gave directions by phone call to install this.  It turned out extremely well.  This install required strapping to hold it in place while the adhesive held and was involved.  Would it be correct to say installation of a side window would be similar but maybe a little more accessible to clamp and position than a windshield?  Perhaps a side glass could be shipped and installed locally too?

8 hours ago, Tom Baker said:

The only source that I am aware of for the window is the factory. I seem to recall someone having a broken door window 10 years or so ago. IIRC they shipped the door back to Germany for repair.

That seems complicated, I’m studying the posibility on making a custom made window here in Colombia, regulations for LSA are super relaxed here and it should be ok, here’s a photo of the damage.

0193CC67-654D-458D-ABE7-B91CDC4D4F21.jpeg