David Ober

New Pilot - Jumping Left on Takeoff

Hi,

I'm a new pilot with only 9 hrs in my CTLS.  On my last few takeoffs, I have notice that I am "jumping left" immediately after leaving the ground.  I am trying to figure out how to improve on this and I am thinking about the following factors:

Is it because I am solo?

Is it because of the 15 degree flaps?

Do I need to adjust the Aileron Trim?

On both occasions, winds were fairly calm.

Thanks for any feedback.

Takeoff Video

David Ober

You are not using enough right rudder, and then trying to correct by using right aileron. This is giving you a double whammy. The right aileron adds even more drag on the left side of the airplane.

(Caveat: I have even less time in the CT than you do) 

Right rudder. Tom spent most of his day Friday telling me the same thing. Lol. 

I was really surprised how much rudder the CT requires. I didn't expect that from a 100 HP aircraft. 

Thanks guys....seems to be a consensus.  I will put a post-it saying "More Right Rudder!° on the dash...I did my training in a SportsCruiser and I guess I got lazy as it didnt seem as rudder reliant.

I will practice this the next time out.

40 minutes ago, Tom Baker said:

You are not using enough right rudder, and then trying to correct by using right aileron. This is giving you a double whammy. The right aileron adds even more drag on the left side of the airplane.

Looks like you taught me well 

8 hours ago, Duane Jefts said:

Yup, More right rudder.

Most common phrase in aviation.  Ever.    B)

It is the case sometimes that as you break ground you might need to increase the amount of rudder you have in.  As the wheels lose contact with the ground, they are no longer helping to maintain directional control, and you are purely at the mercy of aerodynamics.  At that point the airplane might seem to "suddenly" nose off to the left...but in reality you have too little rudder in, and just need to adjust.