market analysis

iaw4

My day job is as an economics professor.  so, I spent some fun time analyzing the annual and used FD CT* market.  I thought I would share it for those interested.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/17e150agb4z1bpa/flightdesign.pdf?dl=0

Let me add that I very much like both the company and the airplanes, so I plan to buy one.  but I have not done so yet.  I have no other conflicts of interest.

Very interesting - still doesn't quite answer my question why CTLS has been dominating LSA sale numbers for years ... was it because in 2006/2007 this plane had no real competitor and afterwards it was just networking effect in play ?

Anyway, interesting.

48 minutes ago, FlyingMonkey said:

I have a 'real' pilot’s license, not just a sports license..

@iaw4  back in 05 and 06  the 'real pilots' were crashing the CTSWs.  They needed some additional 'sport pilot' training because very light aircraft require a high level of stick and rudder skill.

Please take this as constructive criticism. I wanted to point out these major things:

"I have a 'real' pilot’s license, not just a sports license" -- I know you are trying to back yourself up with some sort of credibility, but it goes right out the window when you say things like this... you should try to word this better in the future. You basically insulted every sport pilot in a document that was NOT about sport pilots.... it is about flight design. So yeah, it feels like a cheap shot.

Regarding sales: Flight Design got themselves in a real pickle. They were entered into remediation by the German courts. A customer stiffed them for over a million euros (as stated by documents provided to the courts), and the company was acquired by Lift Air GmbH. Production is back in swing and deliveries are being made.

12-year engine limit: nobody follows this. Did you know year limits exist for lycomings and continentals too? See service instruction SI1009BB (lycoming) or SIL98-9C (continental). Kind of moot.