Question Overload

Andrew Lane

Hey Guys,

I'm new to flying and trying to learn a lot. I'm struggling to understand:

1. if i buy a used 2009 CTLS .... how do i know if it's got the right equipment for night VFR?
  2. doesn't it need a certain lighting package?
  3. can that lighting equipment be installed after the fact?

i've seen whispers about pre-2010 standard not prohibiting IFR/IMC planned flights. are any CT's IFR approved (without ELSA conversion)?

is there a solid knowledge base of LOA's outside of this forum?

To the best of my knowledge all of the CTLS's have the night lighting package. They all came standard with the Dynon, which should have the battery back up which is a ASTM requirement for night flight that is beyond the CFR 91.205 requirement.

My old CTLS was a container mate to one in Iowa, that was used for IFR training and flown in IMC conditions. I think it was Iowa Flight training. You might look them up and give them a call about operating the early CTLS in IMC.

As for LOA's, Flight Design has been pretty good about issuing LOA's. Unless you are making an unreasonable request I don't think it will be a problem.

i just called and spoke to Tim at Iowa Flight Training. REALLY NICE GUY! gave me a lot to think about.

I don't want to misquote him, but I think he said that the only addition to his CTLS, was done at the factory, and it was to add a Garmin WAAS 430 which resulted in an aircraft that fit the pre-2010 acceptability for IFR/IMC flying.

I guess I need to reach out to FD USA and see if they have an existing LOA for the Garmin WAAS 430.  Unless someone has a better suggestion?

2 hours ago, okent said:

Now that's interesting.   I was under the impression that s-lsa was not able to be certified for IFR.  I'd sure be interested in what it would take to get my 2008 ctls done.

Okent,

my understanding is: