New CTLS Owner Needs Landing Advice

TheFrisco

So I am NEW in many ways, a new pilot (PPL in Sep 2019, 80hrs total time, license in C172, flown various LSAs and recently got my tailwheel in a Citabria) and a new 2008 CTLS owner. And here is my challenge, I suck at landing my CTLS. This is to the point where I landed the plane really hard the last time with some skidding, just glad my CFI was with me.

Yes it was Maui, yes it was windy, yes we had radio issues and yes I flared too high so lots of problematic circumstances. But this was the worst landing I had, ever, not even the C172 during my training I ever screwed up this badly. So ...

Is there some good written material for me to read or videos to watch before I go out for my next transition flight? And yes I have read the POH including the 2 different landing patterns 😉

Thanks Robert

Hey Robert,

I had thousands of landings in Cessna's the last 20 years, and could do any conditions with masterful greasing it on.  Then I jumped in a CT and proceeded to make a mess of it for the first few hours.  I had tendency to flare too high / too fast, and a bit of directional control as well, the CT came slowly to me.  I had 1.7 hours all in one time of rental and probably was doing so poor they would not have solo'd me, granted only an hour was pattern work.  Then I bought my bird and insurance only needed 2 more hours in type, which I received locally at airport I bought it through Airtime Aviation.  I was doing better a couple more hours in and at point to safely solo, but still far from ideal.  I'd say up until about 10 hours of time I was still shaky, then it clicks, the pattern work, site picture, and flair all becomes the new perspective.  Don't sweat it, just keep at it, it will happen.  Have fun and enjoy it, you'll pick it up soon enough.