F2... hellova plane... wow.

AGLyme

So, the FD USA guys phoned letting me know that my plane was ready to be picked up as the Annual was completed.  No Parts or issues fortunately (150 hours Hobbs).  Tom P suggested that he was going to be in the neighborhood and that he would pick me up in Chester (KSNC) and fly me to Woodstcok.  He showed up in the first F2 in North America:

IMG_1883.thumb.JPG.0e85ef1401df778f64dc210f28c64dc7.JPG

He let me fly left seat which was cool.  I am not a professional plane reviewer but I will attempt to compare the F2 to my plane which is a CTLSi...  impressions are as follows:

1) Cabin is spacious and more "refined" than the CT.  Nice car-like touches such as shoulder seat belts and air bags... the throttle/brake lever is a linked system, meaning, only one lever.  The plane has a Rotax 912 injected motor, there is now only one lever... no carb heat, no mixture and no brake lever... just a single throttle/brake lever.  Fairly elegant solution.

2) Upon startup, a noticeable reduction in noise level.   Moreover, instead of the high pitched Rotax noise we have all gotten used to, it is a low pitch grumble... note in the above pic, the nose is longer.  The engine was placed more forward than the CT which probably has a lot to do with the noise reduction.  I forgot to note the sight picture difference as we were barreling down the runway for takeoff and landing... my bad.

3) Takeoff, the nose was raised at 40k's with two of us on a 85 degree muggy day... it climbed similarly to the CT.

4) Since every small plane maker's standard is a 172-like feel, I would say this plane has definitely achieved that.  The flying characteristics feel like a far heavier plane than the CT.  Literally, like a 172 which I trained in.  It is astounding that they designed this heavier feel into a plane that is the same weight as the CTLS.

5) We flew without autopilot, didn't need it... literally hands off 80% of the way after trimming.