High fuel flow alert

jay507

Second flight of the day, right around take-off speed, an engine alert was shown and disappeared immediately. Could be reproduced several times and cause shown was HIGH FUEL FLOW. This turned out to coincide with a value between 13 and 18 gal/h, for a short while only. It could then even reproduced with simple run-up, not driving, when above 3500 rpm, the alert came up again, and again just for a moment. 

Doesn't look like a sensor failure to me but a temporary leak in the carburetor. But I am not a mechanic in any way, shape or form. Any experience and/or recommendation?

Thanks to everybody here. Great place. 

Jay507

11 minutes ago, jay507 said:

Second flight of the day, right around take-off speed, an engine alert was shown and disappeared immediately. Could be reproduced several times and cause shown was HIGH FUEL FLOW. This turned out to coincide with a value between 13 and 18 gal/h, for a short while only. It could then even reproduced with simple run-up, not driving, when above 3500 rpm, the alert came up again, and again just for a moment. 

Doesn't look like a sensor failure to me but a temporary leak in the carburetor. But I am not a mechanic in any way, shape or form. Any experience and/or recommendation?

Thanks to everybody here. Great place. 

Jay507

What Fuel are you running? Did this happen after a long taxi, What was the temp outside?

It's vapor getting purged. Vapor doesn't like to move unless a lot of fuel is flowing, and the moment it hits the carbs, they're suddenly going to vent at velocity. Your pressure will drop and your fuel flow will rise, then all will go back to normal.

The vapor sits in the fuel pump, I suspect, since that is where the heat will get to the fuel most easily.

Throw in a gallon of avgas for every 10 or so gallons if it annoys you. It will raise the vapor pressure enough to eliminate the problem.