Flew from the right seat

Jim Meade

As a glider and tail wheel pilot, I'm used to flying with a stick in my right hand and throttle or dive brakes in my left. As a 1200 hour CFI and First Officer on charter, I'm used to flying from the right seat. I probably have more right seat time than left.

So, today I decided to fly the CTSW from the right seat. Felt OK. I noticed how the panel was canted to the left and seems smaller than the left side panel. The stick felt good in the right hand and the left hand felt good at all it's tasks. If I decide to fly a lot from the right seat I'll have to add an AP disconnect button on the right stick.

As I'm still learning landing on the CTSW, today's 13 knot 60 degree crosswind kept me on my toes. I handled it all right from the right seat.

I bounce back and forth all week between seats, just a little different sight picture. When your in the right you have to make the nose look like it's well left of center on landing, and in the left seat it looks well right of center. No big deal if your use to it in other planes, can be a little strange the first few hours though.

My first flight in the CT I started in the left seat, as we taxied out it didn't feel right. I moved to the right seat before take off. Now I have about 600 hours in the right seat, and less than 10 in the left. I even fly from the left if I'm by myself. Tom

It pays of to be ambidextrous.

Maybe you are happy to always be in the right seat (and be a co pilot forever).

I switch back and forth between right hand flying in gliders and towplane and the CT on the left.

It never hurts to acquire different coordination skills.

Maybe you are happy to always be in the right seat (and be a co pilot forever).