Dynon inaccuracies

Al Downs

So far I am really disappointed with the Dynon equipment. Compass reading are as much a 30 degrees off and the indicated winds aloft show at 2500 ft shows in the high 40's on calm days. Heading in one direction I may see winds coming from my left, turn 180 and they are still coming from my left.

I want to recalibrate the compass readings but can't find and airport with a compass rose. Anybody no where there is one close to Racine Wisconsin.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Outside air temp can effect the wind calculation as the temp is needed for the Dynon to determine accurate true airspeed. That is compared to ground speed along with ground track and heading to determine the wind direction and velocity.

Are the Dynon units junk? They seem so inaccurate. Can they be recalculated and maintain more accurate readings?

Winds aloft are as high as 50 and seem to be from the wrong direction.

Hi Al,

I have been flying behind Dynons for the last 2 years and 1100hrs and find they are very reliable and accurate. There are several things that effect the wind calculations. The heading calibration has a huge impact even if it's off a few degrees. Flying uncoordinated also effects the wind calculation by changing the heading vs ground track received from the gps. I would start by going thru the heading calibration on the Dynon using your aircraft compass. After that fly straight and level for a few minutes and check the wind calculations. If it's still way out of whack record the parameters used to make the calculations and maybe we can determine where the issue is. Record the gps ground track, ground speed, Dynon heading, compass heading, indicated airspeed, true airspeed from the Dynon, and the outside air temperature.

Hi Al,